Life in Seoul #3: Weekend Stroll

I spent last Saturday going around the central part of Seoul and Itaewon.

The stairs to KTO
The stairs to KTO

My first destination was Korean Tourism Office. From Jonggak Station we just need to go out through exit 5, go straight, cross the Cheonggyecheon stream, and turn right. The office is located underneath the street, but there are signs everywhere so you probably won’t get lost.

Cheonggyecheon stream
Cheonggyecheon stream

The reason I went to the office was to take the free tickets to watch Track and Field on Asian Games in Incheon–I won the ticket through and online event from the Tourism Korea website. However, since there are many things to see in the office, I decided to take some time taking pictures. I also tried out the free hanbok photo booth.

The hanbok booth
The hanbok booth
Pardon my awkward pose
Pardon my awkward pose

I read in some other blogs that the office has a prayer room that we can use. I didn’t see it nor ask where it was, because I came after praying dzuhur, but I did see a place for wudu’ in the toilet.

After the free photo shoot, I took a walk to Lotte Young Plaza which was only some blocks away. It was fun walking because the whether was really nice.

Lotte Young Plaza
Lotte Young Plaza

My main destination at Lotte Young Plaza was the Okcat Pop-up Store. Okcat is a green cat character designed by 2PM’s rapper, Ok Taecyeon. Besides the Okcat Store, I also found LINE Store and some clothing lines wore by KPop celebrities.

Okcat
Okcat

I also checked out the underground shopping place just right under the Lotte Young Plaza. Surprisingly there were sooo many shops selling glasses and contact lenses with super cheap prices. I found some glasses which cost only 20 thousand won. Most of the shops wrote “Japanese OK” in kanji which indicates how they want to attract Japanese costumers by speaking Japanese. No wonder, though, because the price of glasses in Japan is very high.

I kept walking underground until I reached the gate of Seoul City Hall. There was an exhibition which I guess was a Children Exhibition. I also watched a band performance by cute teenagers.

image
Seoul City Hall

I was almost going back home but then I decided to go to Itaewon. I have been there last year but I didn’t have the chance to visit Seoul Central Masjid yet. So, getting of at Exit 3, I followed the directions from Korea Tourism website and finally reached the mosque.

Seoul Central Masjid
Seoul Central Masjid
The view from across the mosque
The view from across the mosque

Seoul Central Masjid was relatively big. Both the outer and inner appearance were also beautiful. I was so happy to see many Korean people visiting the mosque. Some of the female visitors wearing shorts or mini skirts were lent a piece of long skirt so that they can be more “proper”.

Before going back, I filled my stomach with kebab from Mr. Kebab. Actually they were many halal restaurants around, but since I wanted to eat at the dorm, I decided to buy something easy to take home. Oh, I also went to an international shop to buy some Indonesian noodles. The shop sells quite a lot of stuff, from American shower gel to halal meat.

One of the international food shop
One of the international food shop

Can’t wait for the Asian Games’ track and field game this Sunday!

Leave a Reply

